I got big news

Update: As some of you have guessed, this was my evil’s side playing with April Fools’ Day, thanks dudes.

sun1copy15I gave Washington DC and the USA almost a month and, honestly, this is not what I want.

I lived in other places before and I know this is all the time I need to test a new city. I tried, but the people, the habits, this is not a natural place for me to be. Job is fine, but nothing to do with what I expected. And the weather, you may think is not so important, but for someone coming from the south of Spain (where it is rare not to have a sunny day) and after living two years in Brussels (where it is rare not to have a rainy day) this dark and cold spring in DC is way too much, dude.

Life is short, for real, and we better work hard to get the most of it. So last week I phoned a professional contact I recently made, and I just got confirmation of a decent position in Cape Town, South Africa (!). I always wanted to live in Africa, and especially close to the Tropics, so this is sort of the perfect chance. Unfortunately I still need two months to do the paperwork, but starting June I will be happily based in the other side of the world!

I will only miss the squirrels.

15 thoughts on “I got big news

  1. o_O

    Big news indeed!

    Well, what can I say? So, is it the US in general, or Washington in particular?
    As experienced as you are… are you *sure* that just one month is enough to evaluate your new life?? The weather could be radically different in four months, and personal and professional relationships can take months to develop and become really enjoyable!

    In any case, I wish you the best of lucks!

    …dude.

  2. Wow! Big and good news I hope :-)

    Have you decided it already? I expect to have news about you soon and you know you owe me a visit to Madrid, maybe a Starbuck or “un par de cañas” :-P

    Pd: Si es que como el solecito de nuestra tierra ningún sitio.

  3. Antoñete, ¿no estarás intentando colarnos un “poisson d’Avril”? Hasta que no confirmes tu mudanza en un día distinto al 1 de Abril, no me lo creeré…

  4. La gallina…
    o como decimos por aquí…

    la polla…

    8-O ve escribiendo un mail!!!

    Ya sabemos que UN no es lo que nos gustaría, pero una vez que estás allí, en un sólo mes sabes que no es lo que quieres???

    I want to no more…

    La verdad es que en Bruselas te lo pasabas muy bien…. ;-)

  5. como sea un gol que nos metes me borro del blog

    voy a llamar a tu casa para que me confirmen… aunque a lo mejor también se han enterado por el blog :-O

Leave a Reply

