Next station: Washington, DC

800px-flag_of_whosvg1

Oh man, I’m leaving Brussels.

After several years dedicated to research one way or another, I feel it’s time to tackle new projects. I got an offer I couldn’t refuse and in a couple of weeks or so I’ll be heading to Washington DC to join World Health Organization’s regional office.

(Please note that it’s actually to help out Obama with all the mess — the text above is only the official cover he asked me to say.)

(To be honest this is a promotion within the Spanish intelligence agency, but we want to keep the CIA guys confused.)

(Right, I’ve to stop watching Fringe.)

The idea is to continue working on what I’ve been doing lately — disasters data management if you were wondering. The plan is to be as useful as possible. And to learn, that’s also the plan.

I’m gonna miss the city, reviewing the photos I published during the last two years I realize I almost got an average of a pic per day (!): chocolate, beer, Belgian fries (best in the world) + mussels, the Manneken Pis, the Grand Place and the Atomium, markets in the street, the damn rain (and the snow), the language fair, eternal chats in the brasseries, the masonic icons; the metro, the tram and the lack of bikes; Tintin, the EU atmosphere, a new government every three months, the mitraillette, my terrace.

But what really rocks in Brussels –yeah you saw this coming– is the people. I’ve got two full weeks of holidays, I still need to pack, sign documents, book the tickets… but expect my call to share a penultimate beer!

Photo005

Wish me good luck.

9 thoughts on “Next station: Washington, DC

  1. “The plan is to be as useful as possible. And to learn, that’s also the plan.”
    …and to have fun!!!

    I wish you all the best, mate :¬)

    And book your flights today, you lazy bastard!

  2. Vaya, misterio desvelado :-)
    Ahora cuidadín con meternos en otra guerra ¿eh? Si la Budweisser no es de tu agrado nada de sugerirle a Obama invadir Bélgica ;-)
    ¡Suerte!

  3. No te deseo suerte, porque no te va a hacer falta. Que te lo pases muy bien en los USA, y espero que tengamos la oportunidad de vernos en el centro del mundo (Huéneja, claro…)

  4. Let me know when you get to DC. I just heard from David Hargitt that he will be in DC March 4 and 5…maybe we could get together for beers after work.

    I am confused….Dennis

Leave a Reply

