Tired of “Obama”

barack-obama-is-supermanI’ve to admit I’m tired of all these people seeing Obama as the world’s savior.

Like if he all alone were going to solve capitalism, guarantee human rights, achieve global peace and –why not– a cure for cancer, overnight. Maybe we should note that Obama is only the President of the United States, and the country will be his priority:

I do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.

I guess I could share a higher level of enthusiasm if he resigns tomorrow and applies for Secretary General of the UN, but it kind of seems unlikely.

I’m also tired of these smartasses showing witty reticences like “he’s just a person”, “too easy after eight years of Bush”, or “my only doubt is the exact day he’ll he disappoint us”. Of course he will—as he warned several times by the way, because only if you don’t govern you don’t disappoint.

Good news is that Obama is more than “just a person”. Nothing to do with aliens, hey. Obama is the powerful message he’s bringing to the American (and non-American) people living in the middle of a crisis. And Obama is particularly the people coming with him, his team, the Administration. Neither Bush nor the Americans were evil, but the policies of the Bush Administration made of guys like Cheney and Rumsfeld. These are the people we should be looking at.

Having said that, I believe the Obama Administration will do an excellent job. And Barack Obama will be an outstanding President.

6 thoughts on “Tired of “Obama”

  1. Muy bueno compañero. Por aquí tenemos la noticia hasta en la sopa. Espero que este hombre tenga un equipo detrás que generen noticias de verdad, de las que hay que pararse a escuchar y muestran que las cosas mejoran.
    Tiempo al tiempo.

  2. We all know that the die is cast!!! So, we´ll see. But “hope for the best and prepare for the worst” is a bright proverb to think about. I prefer not to sell the bear leather before haunting it (spanish proverb).

    “I believe the Obama Administration will do an excellent job. And Barack Obama will be an outstanding President.” I am afraid to say this kind of statements, I prefer to say: I am happy, I like Obama, I hope he will do his best… let´s see. (And I am not sitting and waiting for him to disappoint us, I am just an observer)

  3. Obviamente no sólo está condenado a decepcionar a miles de personas por ser un presidente… si no, porque le han puesto como salvador del mundo… Y seguimos pensando que el mundo es EEUU, finalmente hemos llegado a creernos las pelis americanas.

  4. Como todo político, deja y dejará muchos cadáveres por el camino, y en EEUU esto no es solo una figura retórica.

    Lo mejor es que hay esperanza, luego vendrán las decepciones y después de muchos años quizá alguna valoración relevante, pero sobre todo la construcción de un mito.

    Sinceramente, a mi toda la campaña y el lema del “Yes we can” me han recordado la campaña de Felipe González con su lema “Por el cambio”.

Leave a Reply

