Optimizing posts

Something I didn’t like about the old version of this blog was that I tended to post too much for just saying “I’ve seen this interesting…”, “look at that post…” or “oh, check out the link…”, adding a one-line comment at best. This wasn’t really posting but collecting references.

However, pointing out interesting pieces of information can be useful as well. I love for example what Miguel de Icaza does using Google Reader (probably the only tool from Google I don’t like, do you?). And thank you to my beloved Bloglines (150 feeds in crescendo) I can do something more or less similar. You just need to set up a “blog” to publish the stuff you like with just a couple of clicks. Yuju!

In the last days I’ve been trying it out annotating several entries, and it seems to work pretty well. For example, you may see there the latest article by RMS on GNU and Linux (15th anniversary, or the 35th anniversary of Tubular Bells), Ara interviewed about biking in Málaga and Redes continuing in TVE (as far as I know there is no connection between these two elements :-)).

And as the new WordPress 2.3 includes a convenient widget for including RSS feeds, you can include all these entries in the right sidebar automatically. By the way, as La Puce has already noticed (10 points), I’ve done the same with the feed at del.icio.us.

Ah, and finally, as a bonus I’ve also used Bloglines to re-do the blogroll. They’ve a sharing mechanism to automatically generate HTML code to be embedded, this way is easier (and more accurate) to maintain the list of links. Good for Bloglines.

I will post less but, hopefully, better.

PS.- I promise I’ll stop with this meta-blogging thing!

4 thoughts on “Optimizing posts

  1. Tu blog cada vez me hace más consciente de mi falta de tiempo, jaja. No importa, intentaré verlo todo antes de tus proxímos post ¡¡se me acumula el trabajo!!

  2. Es interesante, no digo que no. Vaya, una doble negación…

    Lo que pasa es que me da a mi que los lectores de blogs cada vez somos más vagos, o tenemos menos tiempo. Sea como sea, uno lee fundamentalmente el “contenido”, la columna principal. Y me da a mí que los asides se quedan más para uno mismo y 4 incondicionales que otra cosa.

    No obstante, a mi me pasó lo mismo por la cabeza (o lo leí en algún sitio), y me gustó más la idea de hacer de “esos” posts, minipost, insertados dentro del cuerpo principal.

    Por opinar (ya que metablogueas) que no quede.

    PS(yo también): uso bloglines y no me gusta el gReader, pero más por costumbre que por otra cosa. Y podían rediseñar un poco su lector, por cierto, que esos frames en plena era dospuntoymedio ya les vale.

  3. N., es completamente opcional :-)

    DraXus, I regret to tell you that kind of Gmail-reconverted called Google Reader is far away from the wonderful working simplicity of Bloglines!!!

    Ark, pensé en hacer algo así al principio. Quizás unos posts periódicos en plan “colección de enlaces”, pero este método es como más… rápido y sencillo :-) ¿Quizás las dos cosas? Las noto primero en lado, y luego recopilo fácilmente… interesante.

    Por cierto, nos tienes en ascuas con tus cambios existenciales!

Leave a Reply

